Spanish Speaking Internet Users - June 2020. Largest and smallest Spanish-speaking countries in the world. It is one of the 24 official languages of the European Union. Spanish as a Former Official Language. There are too many people in the world who think that the only Spanish-speaking countries are Spain and Mexico. This puts the US … Where are the majority of Spanish-speaking countries located? It is widespread in Andorra and Gibraltar. Spring Holidays . Required fields are marked *. Spanish is part of the Indo-European family of … The Philippines were under Spanish rule from 1565-1898. There are over 20 Spanish speaking countries and more than 70 nations with measurable Spanish speaking populations worldwide. MexicoWhile one-third of all residents in Mexico speak language, the country recognizes over 68 indigenous languages – and Spanish – as the collection of national languages. Report: Secret Service agents asked to relocate with Trump. Spanish Speaking Countries. Compared to other tongues, different Spanish dialects are not challenging to master. In addition to that, people often assume that all latinos are Mexicans. How many Spanish-speaking countries are there in the world? Besides, as per IWS – It’s now the 3rd most common language on the Internet. The smallest country is Equatorial Guinea with around 740,000 (2013). How Many Countries Are There that Speak Spanish as Their Official Language ? At least 29 countries have more than 1 million Spanish speakers. The first document with traces of Spanish is from around the 9th century and the first systematic use was in the Kingdom of Castile in the 13th century. How Many Countries Official Language is Spanish? Spanish is not a difficult language to master, mostly if you speak one of the romance languages. Historically Spanish was a more widely understood language in the Philippines. "Hispanic" includes Spain but excludes Brazil, while "Latino" includes Brazil but excludes Spain. Etsy seller: '2020 was one of the best years I've ever had' Spanish is an official language of 18 countries. These are mainly residents of about 21 sovereign countries in the world which have Spanish as the official language. Spanish language is native to Spain from where it propagated to world during colonial times. Can you guess which country this is? Largest and smallest Spanish-speaking countries in the world. There are about 20 Spanish speaking countries, which is about 9% of the world's countries. It was first to become democratic on 19 th March 1812. Spanish Speaking Countries In Europe. Spanish Speaking Nations – Hispanic World. With over 20 Spanish-speaking countries and Puerto Rico, there is roughly 500 million Spanish speaking population globally. These countries in alphabetical order are: Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Equatorial Guinea, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico, Spain, Uruguay, Venezuela. It is the official language of Spain and the official language (either by law or de facto) in 19 other sovereign states and one dependent territory (Puerto Rico). You also have the option to opt-out of these cookies. Spanish is also spoken on many islands in the Caribbean (for example the biggest one, Cuba). In the United States, Australia, Great Britain, and many other English-speaking countries, the most popular last name is Smith. Spanish Speaking Countries. Spanish speaking populations from different regions and countries can still communicate effectively without knowing the specific dialect. Read — (i) Pros of Learning Spanish (ii) Career Scope after Learning Spanish (iii) Best Language to learn (iv) Films for Learning Spanish (v) TV Series for Studying Spanish. These cookies do not store any personal information. Spanish or Castillan is a Romance language that originated in the Iberian Peninsula of Europe. The answer to the above question is: There are seven major Spanish dialects in the world. Spanish is the third most studied language after English and French. Many Spanish-speaking countries are located around the world, most being located in South America, Latin America, and Europe. It is mandatory to procure user consent prior to running these cookies on your website. Penetration (% Population) Users % Table Bills TE out for season with virus-linked heart problem. In the world there are people and different communities. A siesta is a nap in the middle of the day observed in the United States. In these countries, Spanish is the dominant language and is spoken by the majority of their respective populations. Those countries are… Mexico Population: 120,286,655 Mexico is the biggest Spanish speaking country with the most Spanish speakers in the world. Welcome to LanguageNext. Spanish is the official or widely recognized administrative language in most countries south of the US, starting with Mexico, with 100 million native speakers the biggest Spanish speaking country in the world. Interesting facts about the reach of Spanish around the world. Public services, education, and information are widely available in Spanish, as are various forms of printed and broadcast media. There are 21 countries that have Spanish as an official language. Even within a single language or language group there may be major differences in speech. The language is being taught in more than 100 countries of the earth, with more than 500,000 teachers and 100 million students. Because of the traditional base and the similarities shared by these languages, It is admitted in written legal documents and courts of law. This is different from the term "Latino," which refers to the people, culture, and countries in Latin America. South America. From Spanish-speaking countries in Africa to Spanish-speaking countries in Asia, the number of Spanish speakers across the world is growing. Some of the varieties are Andalusian (in Andalusia), Canarian (from the Canary Islands), … With twenty-five Spanish speaking countries in the world and over five hundred and fifty million people in the world speaking Spanish, what better language could there be to learn? The Spanish speaking population in the world cut across 20 countries where the language is spoken as an official language. Spanish speaking population in the USA, 2. Internet Users 30-JUN-2020. There are 21 Spanish-speaking countries in the world, and here is a list of those countries and their capitals: Argentina – Buenos Aires There are 22 Spanish speaking countries in the world, including Puerto Rico. Spanish Is in the Same Language Family as English. Spanish Speaking Countries (official) NOTE: Spanish is spoken in many countries, but it is an official language in the following countries below: Well, there are 21 countries that have Spanish as an official language. It is the official language or the de facto language of Spain, Mexico, Argentina, Colombia, Uruguay, Ecuador, Paraguay, Bolivia, Chile, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Panama, Peru, Equatorial Guinea, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Venezuela. Spanish Speakers in Central and South America, 4. For example, the United States Census Bureau defines "Hispanic" as anyone of Mexican, Cuban, Puerto Rican, South American, Central American, or Spanish origin.